November 6, 2017By Lance Baily

INACSL Standards of Best Practice Infographic: Outcomes and Objectives

Check out the second of seven awesome new infographics produced by INACSL to demonstrate the key points of their recently updated Standards of Best Practice: Simulation. The first one focused on design of simulation activities, from a needs assessment and constructing measurable objectives to scenario design and pilot testing. This next one “Outcomes & Objectives” reminds us that all simulation-based experiences begin with the development of measurable objectives designed to achieve expected outcomes. Check out the links below to get high-resolution versions that you can print out for your medical simulation programs!

simulation standards objectives and outcomes infographic

About Outcomes and Objectives

Sponsored Content:

Outcomes are an integral component of instructional and research design. Educators, clinicians, and researchers utilize outcome measures to determine the impact of simulation-based experiences. The Kirkpatrick Model is a commonly used ranking model that evaluates training programs and transfer of learning outcomes. This model depicts four sequential levels of evaluation: (a) Reaction—measures participant’s satisfaction with training, (b) Learning—measures knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs) gained from training, (c) Behavior—measures changes that occurred as a result of training, and (d) Results—improving quality and safety; increased return on investment following training such as productivity, revenue, and employee retention.

Once the simulation-based experience outcome measures have been determined, the next step is to develop objectives. Objectives are the guiding tools to facilitate achievement of simulation-based outcomes and the hallmark of sound educational design. Objectives may be broad or specific as a blueprint for simulation design. Bloom’s Taxonomy provides a framework for developing and leveling objectives to meet expected outcomes. The taxonomy classifies three domains of learning: cognitive, psychomotor, and affective. Each learning domain has a hierarchical taxonomy applicable to simulation activities. The revised Bloom’s Taxonomy hierarchy progresses from the lower level objectives, remember and understand to the higher level objectives, apply, analyze, evaluate, and create. These verbs provide structure and communicate the KSAs the participant is intended to achieve as a result of participating in a simulation activity.

About the INACSL Standards of Best Practice: Simulation

The International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning (INACSL) has developed the INACSL Standards of Best Practice: SimulationSM. The INACSL Standards of Best Practice: Simulation were designed to advance the science of simulation, share best practices, and provide evidence based guidelines for implementation and training.

Sponsored Content:

INACSL provides a detailed process for evaluating and improving simulation operating procedures and delivery methods that every simulation team will benefit from. Adoption of the INACSL Standards of Best Practice: Simulation demonstrate a commitment to quality and implementation of rigorous evidence based practices in healthcare education to improve patient care by complying with practice standards in the following areas:

  • Simulation Design
  • Outcomes and Objectives
  • Facilitation
  • Debriefing
  • Participant Evaluation
  • Professional Integrity
  • Simulation-Enhanced Interprofessional Education (Sim-IPE)
  • Simulation Glossary

Download high-res printable versions of all the infographics here and learn more about the INACSL Standards here!

Sponsored Content: